Deliver us Oh Lord

Psalm 119 is one of my favorite chapters in all of the Bible.  It feeds my Southern Baptist tendency towards bibliolatry (just kidding…well maybe not).  This passage has 176 verses that deal with characteristics of God’s inspired, inerrant Word of God.  Just reading a few verses reminds of the awesome fact that God has spoken to us through his word!  As I was reviewing some verses that I had memorized I was struck again by Psalm 119:37.

“Turn my eyes from looking a worthless things;

 and give me life in your ways!”

How many worthless things do we Christians waste our time upon?  Boxscores, stock market reports, gossip columns, social media, dare I say blogs, etc.?  Don’t get me wrong, I am not dismissing those things altogether (obviously I want ya’ll to continue visit this site), but how would that time measure up if we added up the time we spent on those things and compared it to the actual amount of time we spent meditating on the wonderful truths of God’s word?  How much more effective for Jesus would our lives be, if we truly made the words of Psalm 119:37 our hearts cry?

2 Comments

Filed under The Bible

2 responses to “Deliver us Oh Lord

  1. Matt Millsap

    Enjoying the blog!

  2. Thanks Matt. Come back soon!

Leave a Reply

