On This Day…

I must confess that I am a history junkie and a bit of a nerd.  I am still working on the first of the “My Heroes series” of posts that I promised to deliver earlier this week.  These individuals have been so influential in my life, I am having difficulty putting into words what they mean to me.  I apologize for the delay.  In the mean time, as I was trying to relax and unwind a little from work, I decided to see what happened in history.  My search led me here.  Here are some highlights from this day in case you are interested.  I highly recommend you check out the site.  #historynerdsunite

  • Presidents Lincoln (1864) and Kennedy (1960) were elected to the Oval Office.
  •  Wilhelm Conrad Rontgen (1845-1923) becomes the first person to observe X-rays
  • The Louvre opens (1794)
  • The Announcement of Margaret Mitchell’s birth was Gone with the Wind (1900)
  • “I’m your huckleberry.”  The real Doc Holliday succumbed to TB. (1887)

Thanks for checking in.  Check back later this week for the beginning of the Heroes series.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

