Five Great Reads from History

I asked myself the hypothetical question this week (hypothetical because I hope it never happens) what books would I try to save if I were forced to get rid of my library.  I currently have over 700 volumes in my library and am constantly looking to expand.  Obviously the only book in my library that is not expendable is my copy of the Bible.  Everything else is of secondary importance, however for grins and giggles I thought it might be fun to sift through the different genre’s of books that are contained in my library and offer some suggestions for additions to the library of the avid readers who frequent this blog.

I have always had a passion for history, so I felt that history was the obvious starting point.  So without further adieu:  Five Recommended Reads from the world of history.

Unbroken:  A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption by Laura Hillenbrand.  This book contains the life story of Louis Zamperini, the Olympic runner turned soldier and his adventures in the Pacific Theater of World War II.  This book recently replaced the next entry as my favorite WWII book of all time.

Ghost Soldiers by Hampton Sides–A riveting account of heroic liberation of American POW camp at Cabanatuan.  I could not put this book down!  If you enjoy WWII history, this is a book for you.

Hellhound on His Trail:  The Stalking of Martin Luther King, Jr. and the International Hunt for His Assassin.  also by Hampton Sides.  Perhaps you notice and authorial trend that connects this book with the preceding one.  I haven’t picked up anything by Hampton Sides that I didn’t want to read from cover to cover.  This stunning play-by-play follows the last days of Dr. King and his assassin as they near that fateful day in Memphis.

Manhunt:The 12-day Chase for Lincoln’s Killer by James L. Swanson.  Rarely does history read like a novel.  This historical account does!

The Forgotten 5oo:  The Untold Story of the Men who Risked All for the Greatest Rescue Mission of World War II  by Gregory A. Freeman.  The inside flap of the dusk jacket says it so much more eloquently than I can:  “Here is the astonishing never-before-told story of the greatest rescue mission of world War II–when the OSS set out to recover more than five hundred airmen trapped behind enemy lines in Yugoslavia…”

Honorable Mention:  Hunting Eichman:  How a Band of Surviviors and a Young Spy Agency Chased Down the World’s Most Notorious Nazi by Neal Bascomb.

Happy Reading!  Also Happy Veterans Day.  I am so thankful to the Lord for the men and women who have served our country in war time and peace to protect the freedoms we all enjoy.

By the way, I would appreciate your comments and recommendations as well.  Just click on the comments section below.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, History, Worthy Reading

Leave a Reply

