Leave No Man Behind

20131003-142659.jpg

My office looks like a typical pastor’s office. Books, folders, financial reports, a plastic ficus or two (I haven’t killed them yet.), and my kids artwork are strewn everywhere. The one decoration that invariably draws quizzical looks is a small toy soldier the camps in various places around the office. From time to time someone will ask if my Son has been playing at my office and left his toy.

The truth is that the toy soldier belongs to me. When I was in college I was involved in a discipleship group with a several guys. We prayed together, worshipped together, memorized scripture together and held each other accountable. Our leader was passionate about reaching people with the gospel. He gave me this toy soldier to remind me to be diligent about sharing the gospel. Just like our troops strive to leave no man behind on their missions, so too, we need to be diligent to leave no person behind because they have not heard and had a chance to respond to the gospel!

…Do the work of the evangelist… 2 Tim. 4:5.

Go therefore and make disciples of all nations baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold I am with you always, to the end of the age. Matthew 28:19-20.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

